Skip to main content

Our History

Our History

Since 1951 the Eurella community have walked on the Wangal land, placing their footsteps gently and thoughtfully over those before them, in a journey that is full of resilience, determination, courage and joy. Originally established as a school, the tradition of education and a centre of learning and innovation still resonates today through all areas within Eurella

For 67 years, Eurella Community Services has played a pivotal role in supporting people with disability of all ages to achieve all that is possible. Our deep heritage is founded from a love and recognition of the importance of learning.

Eurella was founded by a group of parents of children and young people with disability who established a temporary school  in Burwood Police Citizens Club to deliver a breadth of educational opportunities for children and young people with disability. From this group grew the present Eurella House which was a day centre administered by a committee of parents and friends.

A public appeal was made by the neighbouring councils of Burwood, Strathfield, Concord, Ashfield together with Burwood Rotary Club.  This resulted in the purchase of a property at 2a Eurella Street Burwood in 1953 which became the Western Suburbs Branch of the S.C.W.A, then the Western Sydney Suburbs Branch Challenge Foundation. On 23rd June, 1993 Eurella Community Services Inc. became an Incorporated Association.

Because of increasing enrolments an additional building (the hall) was erected in 1961, which became classrooms for teenagers and young children.

As the centre developed, public support was maintained.  The adjoining property at 2 Eurella Street was purchased and on March 17th 1973 a new school building was opened.  Major alterations were then made to the interior of the vacated junior school at 2A Eurella Street, making it suitable for an activity-training centre. 

 The legacy of our founding members’ vision for supporting people with disabilities, is as vibrant today as it was when the foundation stone for Eurella was laid in 1972.

 

back to top